Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

observer

Mx5 privacy issue

7 posts in this topic

I noticed an unwanted operation of Mx5 (5.0.2.1000 and 5.0.2.1400 versions at least).

When I exit Maxthon via tray icon or close the application with task manager, or in case of power interrupt, or when it crashes (i.e. in case of abnormal termination) Mx5 doesn't ask for login at next start. I don't know how it can be used, but it's a real bypass of logging in.

Sorry, maybe I'm bad, but I didn't find any similar topic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tested and it happened to me as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there, I think this auto login function is designed like this. And I've tested with Chrome, Firefox and other browsers, my account will auto login every time I restart my computer, exit from the system tray, after a power interrupt.

I suppose that most people have to enter a password when starting your pc, and any sensitive and private information are saved in Passkeeper (in the case of Maxthon), and it requires password when you access it. So the risk is relatively low.

BTW, I've talked with our account manager. If you want to make sure no one can access your account. You can

1, untick the "auto login" option the first time you login Maxthon account, or

2, log out your account before you exit Maxthon.

Hope my answer helps :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1) I don't use  auto login.

2) in case of abnormal shutdown of Mx or system, it's imposible to log out.

3) with autofill & cookies, it's not nesseccery to view passwords in Passkeeper.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi observer, please make sure you untick these two options when you log in, or the Auto-login option. :)

QQ截图20170208160339.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote above I don't use the auto-login option. And "Remember password" checkbox is unchecked as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just tested this again with the latest internal release. It seems that this is no longer an issue.

After force closing using task manager, you always get the user selection or password prompt screen on restarting Maxthon.

Hopefully it will be publicly released shortly.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites